This hides the machine from the group and hides its score. The machine's score will no longer be included in the overall score or the group score. It will remain visible in search results without any specific filters applied. 

Deactivating a machine is different from archiving it. An archived machine will no longer appear in search results, except when using the “archived: yes” search filter.